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This guide is designed for quick view only and is not ali-inclusive. To download a compiste

Law Reference Guide

copy ef Dig Sale stale laws and nues, please go to digsafe.com — “Laws & Enforcement.”

Color Goding System Dig Safe System, Inc.

Massachusetts Maine New Hampshire Rhode Island Vermont Calor coded paint or fiags are used to identify the type of

Statute Chapter 82, Title 23 MASA Statuta RSA 374, Statute Chapter 39-1.2,  VSA Tilledo, underground facilities. ’) ) ¥

Section 40 Section 3360-A Section 47-56 Section 1 Chapter 86 1 It's Smart., It's Easy. It's the Law,
Whao is required to All excavators All excavators Al excavators All excavaters All excavaters H ﬁmu_mnn_ﬁ:_.w TQM.._M_.. _md_mwm_ %mw__mm.
provide natification? {using mechanized onduit and Lighting Cables

equipment only)

Whal excavalionareas  Public ways and Public ways ard Within 100 feet of Wilhin 100 feet of Within 100 feet of Gas, Oil, m_f_ﬁ_mwa._ qm:.oum::_ or
require notification? private property private property underground underground utiities underground u Gaseous Materials

Who is required to
parficipate in the

Gas, Electric, Telephone,
Cable Television and

Gas, Elgciric, Telephone,
and Cable Television

Gas, Electric, Telephane,
Cable Television and

Gas, Electric, Telephone,
and Public Water

Gas, Elgciric, Telephone,
and Cable Television

E Communication, Alarm or
Signal Lines, Cables or Conduit

A
PR

system? Private Water Companies Pubilic Water Companfes  Companies
Notification Lima
requirements® Potable

Minimum 72 Hours 72 Hours 72 Hours 48 Hours 48 Hours Water

texcept weekends (except weekends {except weekends (except weekends (except weekends
and holidays) and holidays) and holidays) and holidays) and holltays)

Maximum 30 Days 30 Days 30 Days 30 Days 30 Days

Emergencies  ASAP ASAP ASAP ASAP 254 E MWM__...M“M%MM
Response time 72 Hourg 72 Hours 72 Hours 48 Hours 48 Hours
By s PURPLE Non-Potable Water

(Reclaimed Water, Irrigation
Notification time for 4 Hours 4 Hours 4 Hours 4 Hours e and Slurry Lines)
unanticipated blasting -
after f notification ._.m_._._ucqmé_ Surv ey
H Markings
Remark notificalian 24 Hours 24 Hours ses 24 Hours 48 Hours
Violation penalties: Up ta $1000
Arst offense $500 Up 1o $500 5500 $200 Up to 1000 o
Subsequent offerses 55,000 to $5000 Up to $5,000 Up 10 $5,000 $500 to $1,000 Up to $10,000 Dig Safe System, Ing.
, 9 331 Montvale Avenue
]
Premarking requirement  Yes Yos Yes No Yos 3 Weburn, MA 01801
v
Regulation and Massachusetts Maino Public Uitilities New Hampshire Public  Rhode Island Division Vermant Depariment 1-888-DIG-SAFE
Enforcement Depart of ission Ulilities Commission of Public Utilities of Public Service Ammm-wbauwﬁm@
The followin g Public UHities wwiw.maine gov/mpuc www.puc.stala.nh.us & Carriers www.state.vt.us/psd .
g stata agencies 5 H”_ mmwm com

requlats and enforce WW.Mass govidpy wwnripuc.org g L — oz oL

“The Dig Safe Law"™

* The excavator i fesporsiic 1o maintain designated markings.
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Don’t Dig Yourself Into Trouble

Digging is dangerous and costly if you don't know where
underground facilities are burled. Utility accidents are harmful
to life, property and the environment. They also disrupt vital
utility services, and cause work delays, expensive repairs,
liability and civil penalties.

Damage prevention is everyone's respansibility, Whether
you're a contractor excavating for a farge project or a
homeowner installing a mailbox, anyone who condycts garth
moving activilies should contact Dig Safe® before starting.*
This s a free service, funded entirely by Dig Safe's member
utility campanies.

Dig Safe® is the communication link between excavators and
member utifities established for the comman goal of damage
prevention. The Dig Safe Call Center electronically transmits
information about your upcoming excavation project fo
member utility companies. In tum, the member utllities who
own or maintain buried facilities in the area of excavation
use spray paint or flags lo mark the location of the lings,
(Some member utilities contract private locating companies
to mark their lines.) Callers are given a permit number as
proof of nolification.

Dig Safe is a not-for-profit arganization created to promote
public safety, protect vital utility services and safeguard
against property and environmental damage.

Dig Safe Is open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m,, not including

legal holidays. Off hour coverage is pravided for emergency
work only. Centractors may also use Quick-Ticket, our anline
permitting system, which is available 24/7 for scheduled Jobs.

The toll free number for excavators in Massachusetts,
Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont is
888-DIG-SAFE (888-344-7233).

* Fleasa rofer o the Law at a Blanca soction of this brochure b speciic stale requirements.

When Not to Gall Dig Safe®

Since Dig Safe is not a utility company, please call the
utilities directly to:

© report any type of service outage
= resolve any type of billing disputes
* request new utility service
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“First Cross Sireet:

Preparing to Call

Dig Safe Customer Service Representatives {CSRs) process
thousands of utility locate requests a day. Please be prepared
with the following informaticn so that your time on the phone
Is used efficiently:

Caller Details
Contractor ID;

Name:

Tille:

Phane;

AlL. Phone:

Fax:

Email Address:

Business Hours:

Company Nams:

Address:

Location Details
State:
City/Town:
Latitude/Longitude (aptionar):
Address/Intersection:

Second Cross Street:

Additiona! Information:

Type of Work:
Area To Be Marked:

(ie. street to house, in the strest, sidewaik area, right side of houss)
Area Premarked? (IYes [JNo
Excavator Daing Work:

Steps to a Safe Excavation*

- Premark the proposed excavation area using white stakes,
paint or flags in a manner that will anable uti ty operators
1o know the boundaries of the project. Premarking quide-
lines are available at digsafe.com — “Laws &
Enforcement”

2. Notify Dig Safe at B88-DIG-SAFE at least 2 business days
(48 hours) in Rl and VT, and at least 3 business days
(72 hours) in MA, ME and NH,

3. Please Listen carefully as the CSR repeats the location to
confirm our accuracy of your request. If a caller provides
Incorrect information about an excavation project, a new
Dig Safe permit must be issued. Dig Safe recerds all
incoming and outgoing calls far the sake of accuracy.

Document and refain the Dig Safe permit number and
legal start date/time.

5. Contractors should explain the process to customers
beforehand so they understand why utility locators w
500n respond to their property and leave paint and/or flags
behind.

6. Facility owners are required by law to mark only the
facilities that they own or maintain, so private facilities
may not be marked by member ufility companies. For your
safety, also contact any non-member facility owners in the
area of excavation. For your assistance, a list of private
utility locators is available oniine at digsafe.com —
“Services.”

Dig carefully araund marked underground facilities. State
law requires hand digoing methads when wor
18 Inches of a marked underground facil Y.
8. Maintaln the marks. If for whatever reason the marks are
no longer visible, you must refresh the marks yourself or
contact Dig Safe to order a “remark."* i

© Pleasa refer o the Laws af a Glanca section of
this brochurn for specific state requrementa.
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Go to digsafe.com for the most current information
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Dig Safe's website includes: '

° Download "Dig Safe” state laws and rules

= Answers 1o Frequently Asked Questions

= List of Dig Safe members

= Upcoming Events

* Membership Enroliment Information

= Call Center News :
= Order Free Dig Safe Itams

= List of Private Utility Locators

Quick-Ticket at digsafe.com

Now you can pracess Dig Safe permits.enline, from
your own PC. Take advantage of real-time web ticket
entryl You'll spand less phone time with Dig Safe,
and enjoy the flexibility of applying when it's
convenient for you.

Get your Dig Safe number, legal start date, and a list
of member uilities notified instantly. A Help page is
provided to quickly answer your questions.
Quick-Ticket also makes record keeping a snap. Just
click your print button to keep-a copy of the Dig Safe
ticket number. o FEer

To enjoy the benefits of Quick-Ticket, you must apply
for a password. Go to digsafe.com and click onQuick-
Ticket Password, 5T 0k

digsafe.com



